December 20, 2016. Durham, North Carolina. Promotional photographs of The Mountain Goats for their new album GOTHS

The indie-folk outfit, The Mountain Goats have announced their 16th full-length album, ‘Goths‘, following 2015’s ‘Beat The Champ‘. Appearing to be somewhat of a concept album, likened to their last album which was about underground wrestling, ‘Goths‘ will deal with goth subculture. Recorded at the Blackbird in Nashville, Tennessee with producer Brandon Eggleston (The Dandy Warhols, Swans, Modest Mouse), ‘Goths‘ is due out May 19th on Merge Records.

This album is the first with woodwinds player/arranger Matt Douglas as a full-time member. The band’s Bandcamp page promises “no comped vocals, no pitch correction, no guitars” which was confirmed by John Darnielle in a Facebook Live stream the afternoon of February 22. They have also released the first glimpse of the album: ‘Andrew Eldritch Is Moving Back To Leeds‘. The song, using Sisters Of Mercy frontman Andrew Eldritch, tells the tale of London clubs that used to call to dreamers from Leeds. Meanwhile, their track ‘Rains In Soho‘ is set to feature members of the Nashville Symphony Chorus. Earlier this month Darnielle released his new novel “Universal Harvester” which was followed by a book tour. The track listing for ‘Goths‘ can be found below:

01 Rain in Soho
02 Andrew Eldritch Is Moving Back to Leeds
03 The Grey King and the Silver Flame Attunement
04 We Do It Different on the West Coast
05 Unicorn Tolerance
06 Stench of the Unburied
07 Wear Black
08 Paid in Cocaine
09 Rage of Travers
10 Shelved
11 For the Portuguese Goth Metal Bands
12 Abandoned Flesh
13 For the West Coast Dark Ambient Bedroom Warriors
14 Scaling the Well
15 Vanishing Act
16 Grave Dust

Sarah Medeiros