1. Mudhoney – ‘Paranoid Core’

Grunge Godfathers, Mudhoney, return after almost 5 years, with a new album named ‘Digital Garbage‘, out September 28, via Sub Pop. ‘Paranoid Core‘ is the first sample from the upcoming album, and all we can say is that the pioneering band still feels grung-y enough after 30 years! Mark Arm and the gang sound they are in top form… Counting the days backwards…

Christos Doukakis

  1. Raccoon Lagoon – ‘Action Figure Kid

Amsterdam based solo-band Raccoon Lagoon has been releasing one track per month since April. His most recent single, ‘Action Figure Kid’, is three minutes of lethargic dreamtime melody wrapped in a Mac DeMarco meets jangle-pop outer coating. Be sure to check out the home-spun style music video for meaningful timestamp references. 

Sarah Medeiros

  1. Suede – ‘Don’t Be Afraid If Nobody Loves You

Firstly the track’s title: ‘Don’t Be Afraid If Nobody Loves You‘; Secondly the grandiose return of once-upon-a-time brit pop heroes Suede. About a month ago, I was writing about The Invisibles‘ for the 90th edition of Songs Of The Week. And now, forget it. Just push the play button. Just epic! How far is September 21st?

Christos Doukakis

  1. Bonjour Tristesse – ‘One Of The Ghostfolk

Bonjour Tristesse (“Hello Sadness” in French) is an one-man black metal band from Germany. Nathanael deals with sadness and emptiness in his music and lyrics, however he calls his music “anarchist black metal”, due to his personal interests. On July 27th he releases his second album ‘Your Ultimate Urban Nightmare‘ via Lifeforce Records.

Mary Kalaitzidou

  1. Boat Race Weekend – ‘Youth

Emo/indie trio from Spokane, Boat Race Weekend, recently shared a video for their track ‘Youth‘ (from ‘Near & Dear‘). Shot on black & white, along with the powerful melody line the video achieves in ‘capturing the joys you experience at different stages of life‘ as drummer Jay Orth states.

BRW create straight-to-heart music with edgy hooks and addictive melody lines, while at the same time they remain true to the DIY ethos of their music. Give this a ‘spin’. It’s worth every single second!

Christos Doukakis

Compiled by Christos Doukakis, Sarah Medeiros & Mary Kalaitzidou