1. Tennis  ‘I Miss That Feeling

I Miss That Feeling‘ is the latest offering by the Denver duo Tennis, from their new EP, ‘We Can Die Happy‘ out on November 11th. It’s this laid-back 70’s feel that this tune “exhales”. This feeling, -not so long ago-, when we used to look at each other instead of our smartphones. An era of purity, stripped of the virtual life sickness… Enjoy and revive this feeling even for 202 seconds!

Christos Doukakis

  1. Body Count – ‘This Is Why We Ride

Body Count released their sixth album ‘Bloodlust‘ in March via Century Media. Ice-T once again activates his social awareness. Futhermore, there are interesting collaborations with Dave Mustaine, Max Cavalera and Randy Blythe, and a cover of Slayer’s ‘Raining Blood‘, modified as ‘Raining In Blood/Postmortem 2017‘. The song ‘This is Why We Ride‘ is the third out of the 11 tracks from ‘Bloodlust‘.

Mary Kalaitzidou

  1. Casper Skulls – ‘Lingua Franca

Casper Skulls from Toronto, Canada with the second single ‘Lingua Franca’ from their upcoming debut album ‘Mercy Works‘ makes it on this week’s mixtape. The new album will be officially out on November 3rd via Buzz Records. The band emerged from Toronto’s local scene in 2015 with their great live performances and a sound that showed that they know what they are doing and how to perform this. Their sound Is something between post punk and 90’s lo-fi indie and reminds us of the sound of Pavement and Sonic Youth.

It’s so exciting to make music when you can explore what you want to explore.  Where we can go in terms of sound is endless. We’re big ambient music nuts so it’d be great to make an ambient record after this one, or an acoustic album. The goalis to be as freely creative as we can be as four people.” Says Bednis (songwriting, arrangements).

Eleftheria Gesou

  1. Enslaved – ‘The River’s Mouth

The always restless Enslaved are releasing on October 13th their new album ‘E‘ via Nuclear Blast. The band stated that this album will cross all genre boundaries and some are already talking about one of the best albums of the year. The first officially released track ‘The River’s Mouth‘ keeps up to this promise.

Mary Kalaitzidou

  1. Svartsinn – ‘And In This Cloak Of Darkness I Cast My Shadow Short (Ghost Boy)’

Since the early 2000s Svartsinn has been a name synonymous with Scandinavian dark ambient. His first foray into the industry was ‘Devouring Consciousness‘ in 2000 followed by the massively popular ‘Nord Ambient Alliance‘ album. ‘Nord Ambient Alliance‘, one of the first releases on Cyclic Law saw Svartsinn matched up with Northaunt, Kammarheit, Predominance and Instincts. Several of which have become some of the biggest names in dark ambient.

Since his first release Svartsinn has kept a reserved schedule on releasing albums. Over the almost two decades of his career we only have seen four full length releases, the last of which was released in 2009. So ‘Mørkets Variabler‘ is a monumental release, awaited by his dedicated fans for a long time!

The opening track from ‘Mørkets Variabler‘, ‘And In This Cloak Of Darkness I Cast My Shadow Short (Ghost Boy)‘, gives us a nine minute preview of what to expect from this upcoming release. All the detail and subtle darkness of which Svartsinn is renowned can be witnessed on this track. Added to these trademark elements his the cello-work of Amund Ulvestad, who will be making multiple appearances throughout ‘Mørkets Variabler‘. If this track tells us what to expect of the whole, we have one hell of an album coming our way!

Michael Barnett

Compiled by Christos Doukakis, Mary Kalaitzidou, Eleftheria Gesou & Michael Barnett