1. Surmland Sound Science – ‘Analysis: Unidentified KHz’ 

What I like most about ‘Analysis: Unidentified KHz‘, the 2nd track of the recently released The First Thesis (EP) by Swedish “secretive” outfit Surmland Sound Science, is the absolute sense of freedom. It’s the absolute driving in a highway, broad daylight, escaping the urban environment on an excursion without final destination. Just keep going. Straight on. Reminded me a lot of the kraut rock approach of sublime London kraut/cinematic band Kontakte. Make sure you check this one out! Suitable for every daydreamer…. Or if you prefer day-tripper.

Christos Doukakis

  1. Misery index – ‘New Salem

The death metal/grindcore band Misery Index, which took its name from the economic indicator is releasing ‘Rituals of Power‘ on March 8th 2019 via Season Of Mist. The band is known for its political and highly critical lyrical context.

Mary Kalaitzidou

  1. King Apathy – ‘Earthmother Rising’

King Apathy is a melodic metal band from Germany formed in 2007. Their sound is influenced by various genres such as black metal and post rock. Their name derives by the social condition they observe regarding environmental and political issues. King Apathy’s forthcoming album ‘Wounds‘ is out on February 22nd 2019 via Lifeforce Records.

Mary Kalaitzidou

  1. sight. – ‘closing in

sight. left behind for a while their ambient sound and crafted an indie rock and/ post punk tune entitled ‘Closing In‘. The new track is taken from their latest EP ‘Broken Hearts Still Love‘. The story of Aneeq Kalson is different (than the usual) and is shared on the Bandcamp, because is certain that their live’s background affects also their music; In a few words, the fear of being homeless and how he put his life back on track while hosted in a friend’s house. In addition, how all the participating musicians were kneaded slowly in that house to form this cinematic project.

Eleftheria Gesou

  1. Mercury Rev – ‘Big Boss Man’ (featuring Hope Sandoval)

The legendary psychedelic  indie rock and dream pop band of 90’s Mercury Rev are about to release their new work, their own version to Bobbie Gentry’s The Delta Sweete‘ on 8th February via Partisan Records/ Bella Union.

The second offering of this new work ‘Big Boss Man‘, is a collaboration with the lead singer of Mazzy Star, Hope Sandoval. Country music aesthetics with the dreamy and evocative voice of one of our favorites vocalists.

Eleftheria Gesou

Compiled by Christos Doukakis, Mary Kalaitzidou & Eleftheria Gesou