1. Pixies – ‘Um Chagga Lagga

New album ‘Head Carrier’ and new song ‘Um Chagga Lagga from Pixies, yep, it’s true! The expected sound of Pixies is here again, wild, funny and raging, in Frank’s usual mood. You’re gonna love it as much as you did for so many years following that pioneering band, because their ways and the whole recipe have stayed the same: playing rock music that first of all makes the band feel happy about it and get along with it as if they chat over a beer, and then groove it on stage for their fans to rock! Simple, catchy, alternative and loud, as expected from a band that… Oh, enough of this! Press play, listen loud!

Mike Dimitriou

  1. Blood Orange – ‘Augustine’

Blood Orange‘s Augustine’ is a track that has it all! Stunningly melodic parts based on simple structure and orchestration (drum machine, guitar, piano), mixing cultures (U.S.A. with West Africa), and even singing in Krio (national Sierra Leone’s language). From ‘Freetown Sound’, this is easily one of the best tracks of 2016 so far…

Christos Doukakis


  1. Devil Made Me Do It – ‘Scream And Shout’

Devil Made Me Do It: A brand new alternative metal group from Athens! ‘Scream Αnd Shout’ is out of their forthcoming album ‘Her Majesty’s Pleasures’, a very strong and catchy metallic blend, including the band’s tight performance along with grungy spices on a motor groove that really shakes the body. The band’s members can be considered ‘veterans’ since they all have been in angry-oriented groups, or are in still. Despite the certain groove and the excellent performance, I chose that new ‘baby’ ‘cause it made me repeat it 3 or 4 times, and put it on the list for the week. Jeans, sneakers, beer and groove— sounds nice!

Mike Dimitriou

  1. Deaf Radio – ‘Revolving Doors’

One of the most promising Athenian bands for the time being is Deaf Radio. ‘Revolving Doors’ is the first single from their upcoming debut album, and is a killer track, bearing in mind the immaculate QOTSA. Catchy as hell, and pure rock energy with attitude by these youngsters!

Christos Doukakis


  1. Randal Collier-Ford – ‘Into The Maw Where All Men Die’

This collaboration is one of the most lucid encounters with our post-apocalyptic future selves, since ‘2147‘ by Sabled Sun. The four young but well-honed artists: Randal Collier-Ford, Flowers For Bodysnatchers, Council Of Nine and God Body Disconnect, have all teamed up to work on this massive sci-fi endeavour, named ‘Locus Arcadia‘. Bruce of GBD has provided a prologue to go with the album and here is a sample of his text along with the opening track by Randal Collier-Ford (check out the rest at the Cryo Chamber Bandcamp page): ‘A rust-colored metallic structure with hundreds of slits like eyes peering out into open space. I slowly slide a vigilant gaze along its seemingly endless perimeter, and in complete awe of its massiveness the reality of what awaits me firmly sets hold.’

Michael Barnett

Compiled by Mike Dimitriou, Christos Doukakis & Michael Barnett