Singer-songwriter Kat (Katerina Papachristou) and her band Tango With Lions are back after five years of absence from discography and while their previous two albums – “Verba Time” (2010), “A Long Walk” (2013) – have expanded their loyal audience beyond Greek borders. Their long awaited new album, “The Light”, will be the first release of Inner Ear for 2018.

“The Light” documents a desire to emerge towards the light through nine stories-questionmarks of introspection. Stories of separation, pleasures, deconstruction that motivate either nihilism and sinking into darkness, either excessive optimism or the acceptance that darkness and light can steadily coexist in music. This natural coexistence is the thread that unites the songs of “The Light” musically and lyrically. Nine songs, different in style, reaffirm that the atmosphere in Tango With Lions’ music is created through images that lure the music, with the lyrics being the key link.

The album began to take shape in 2015 and was completed in the summer of 2017. It was recorded at SCA studio with sound engineer and band member Thodoris Zefkilis, with additional recordings from AKRON studio, where it all began with sound engineer Vangelis Fampas. The mastering of the album was made in Pytzamax studio by Yannis Paxevanis.

Out on vinyl, cd and digital album via Inner Ear Records.


releases January 19, 2018

All music written by Kat Papachristou and performed by Tango with Lions
All lyrics by Kat Papachristou

Tango with Lions are:
Kat Papachristou – vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar on tracks 2 and 8, celtic harp on track 3, piano, keyboards, acoustic bass on tracks 2 and 8
Theodore Zefkilis – electric bass
Nikos Vergetis – drums, percussion
Jim Staridas – trombone
Dennis Morfis – electric guitar on tracks 2, 4 and 7

Guest performances:
Michalis Diakogiorgis – gran cassa on track 1, timpani on tracks 1 and 8, vibraphone on track 5
Nikos Giousef – musical saw on track 8
Nalyssa Green – theremin on track 2, accordion on track 9
Dimitris Aronis – banjo and backing vocals on track 6
George Gaudy – backing vocals on track 8
Yiannis Paxevanis – lap steel guitar on track 6
Children’s choir of Spyros Lambrou – track 4

Electric guitar on track 7 written by Yannos Paramythiotis and Dennis Morfis, performed by Dennis Morfis
Bass line on track 6 written and performed by “The Cousins” (Antonis Skamnakis -Theodore Zefkilis)

Arranged and produced by Kat Papachristou and Theodore Zefkilis

Recorded and mixed by Theodore Zefkilis at SCA studio, Athens, Greece
Piano tracks, birthday party 2015, acoustic bass on track 2 and vocals on track 1, 2 and 8 recorded by Vangelis Fampas at AKRON studio, Athens, Greece
Mastered by Yiannis Paxevanis at Pytzamax studio, Athens, Greece

Artwork by Bob Studio
Photos by Despoina Spyrou