In 1986 Sonic Youth did the film score for the black comedy road movie Made in U.S.A. (1987) by Ked Friedman. Before the score was formally completed, the band recorded some rehearsals in a studio called Spinhead. Those recordings, quite different from the official music that was finally released, have been collected in an instrumental album that is to be released June 17 by Goofin’ Records. The artwork and tracklist of this album can be found below along with the audio from ‘Theme with Noise‘.

Spinhead Sessions Tracklist:

01 Ambient Guitar & Dreamy Theme
02 Theme with Noise
03 High Mesa
04 Unknown Theme
05 Wolf
06 Scalping
07 Theme 1 Take 4

Debbie Maliotaki