Alt-rockers Jennifer Herrema and Neil Haggerty have returned for their 11th studio album entitled, ‘Platinum Tips + Ice Cream‘; the first time we’ve heard new material from them as Royal Trux (actually Royal Trux Live) since 2000’s critically acclaimed studio album, ‘Pound For Pound‘. Since breaking up the same year, Herrema and Haggerty have both released solo works; Haggerty’s under his own name and as part of the band The Howling Hex, whilst Herrema has released music under the name RTX. Two reunion shows were performed last year: one at the Beserktown Festival in Santa Ana, California, and another at NYC’s Webster Hall.

Speaking on the new album in a press release the band states: “The actual experience and qualities of the performance, the rawness that could be felt and heard LIVE in 2016, now in album form, conjuring the early feral spirit of the band devouring the sophisticated later years and coughing an INSANE hairball of sound.” The LP is set to feature live and unrehearsed versions of earlier Royal Trux songs, such as: ‘Blue Is The Frequency‘, ‘Sewers Of Mars‘, ‘The Banana Question‘, ‘Esso Dame‘ and ‘Deafer Than Blind‘.

Platinum Tips + Ice Cream‘ will be released via Drag City on June 16th. Check out the cover art, tracklisting, tour dates and live version of ‘Sometimes‘ below to satisfy you until you can get your first listen of that insane hairball.


Platinum Tips + Ice Cream‘ tracklisting:

  1. Junkie Nurse
  2. Sewers of Mars
  3. Red Tiger
  4. Sometimes
  5. Mercury
  6. Esso Dame
  7. Deafer Than Blind
  8. Waterpark
  9. Platinum Tips
  10. The Banana Question
  11. Blue is the Frequency
  12. Ice Cream

Royal Trux Tour Dates:
5/13 – Detroit, Michigan – El Club
5/28 – Manchester, United Kingdom – Victoria Warehouse
5/29 – Glasgow, United Kingdom – The Art School
5/30 – Bristol, United Kingdom – Marble Factory
5/31 – Brighton, United Kingdom – Concorde 2
6/01 – London, United Kingdom – Electric Ballroom
6/03 – Barcelona, Spain – Primavera Sound Festival
6/09 – Porto, Portugal – NOS Primavera
6/11 – Nimes, France – This Is Not A Love Song Festival

Sarah Medeiros