If guitar rock is dead, no-one told Bad Sav. The latest blast of Analogue Dunedin comes from the band that refused to be left behind. Although featuring Death And The Maiden guitarist/vocalist Hope Robertson and bassist/vocalist Lucinda King, plus Shifting Sands guitarist Mike McLeod (on drums here), Bad Sav are the primary strain from which both of those bands sprang.

When asked to describe her band’s sound in a 2010 interview, Hope suggested “…a missed punch and a grazed fist. Sad, heavy, unpredictable loud pop”. Indeed, Bad Sav offer a far more guitar-oriented hard attack than DATM; their distinctive filtering and reassembly of influences from shoegaze, psychedelic noise-rock – and goodness knows where else – are combined using a uniquely electrified Dunedin sonic alchemy, bursting with colossal, majestic, melodic noise.


Bad Sav are:
Hope Robertson – Guitar, vocals
Lucinda King – Bass, vocals
Mike McLeod – Drums

All songs written by Hope Robertson, Lucinda King, Michael McLeod except “Twilight Zone” which is based on “Wander With Me” written by Jeff Alexander and Tony Wilson, published by April Music inc./ ASCAP and arranged by Bad Sav.

Recorded at Chicks Hotel, Port Chalmers by Tom Bell. Mixed and Mastered by Steven Marr.

Album artwork by Motoko Kikkawa, design by Chris Schmelz.