Neoclassical Suite is a column that will present 7 recent, distinctive tracks of the neoclassical-modern classical-contemporary -and beyond!- music field. 

The Players

Julia Thomsen

(neoclassical, cinematic)

Julia Thomsen is a neo-classical composer who takes inspiration from nature and everything around her. Julia’s music has been used in art exhibitions, documentaries and films, most notably ‘Looking Out For George’ (2002) which was shortlisted for the Jury’s Prize at the Raindance Film Festival 2003 . In February 2020 Julia was signed up by international Sync agency, Deli Music.

Andy Pavlov


Andy Pavlov is a South Slavic pianist and composer whose fascination for the piano as an object that holds an infinity of sounds and styles led him from a formal training in classical music to an exploration of contemporary music and conceptual art.

Taking inspiration from musicians such as John Cage, Thelonious Monk, Gurdjieff/De Hartmann, Ruben Gonzales and Dutch minimalist Simeon ten Holt, Andy Pavlov developed a style uniquely his own, which merges the sensitivity of classical music with minimalism, always following the bold desire to experiment, creating music for the heart and soul.

Andy Pavlov is a member of the Piano Duo, @LP Duo

2 Chamadas Não Atendidas

(neoclassical, instrumental)

2 chamadas não atendidas (2 unanswered calls), a Portuguese instrumental music trio of piano, euphonium and oboe, is now presenting its first record of originals.The trio, André Louro (piano), Gonçalo Marques (euphonium) and Artur Rouquina (oboe) writes and performs new Portuguese instrumental music for a broader audience. Their themes and moods are inspired by the playfulness and simplicity of everyday life – O paninho, Aquário e Carregado – or the friendly familiarity of the idiomatic – Oh, Zé, Ai Bonitinha and Porreiro Pá.2 chamadas não atendidas have the support of the classical radio station Antena 2.

Thomas Hewitt Jones

(Feat. Simon Hewitt Jones)


Thomas Hewitt Jones is an award-winning composer of contemporary classical and commercial music. Winner of the 2003 BBC Young Composer Competition, his music has been published by Boosey & Hawkes, Oxford University Press, Banks Music, the RSCM, Encore Publications, Universal Music, and is frequently heard on radio, TV and the cinema in the UK and abroad.

Thomas has written three ballets which toured the UK in 2008–2011 with Ballet Cymru, most notably a dance setting of Dylan Thomas’ masterpiece Under Milk Wood. His choral and instrumental music is frequently performed worldwide. He has also written numerous Christmas carols, including What Child is This? (OUP, 2012). Recent large-scale works include Wildflower Meadows, a song cycle commemorating the First World War, and the Christmas cantata Incarnation, released on Regent Records, both with words by regular collaborator Paul Williamson.

Commercial commissions have included work in America and scores for films in the UK, as well as music for the London 2012 Olympics Mascots animated films, with stories by Michael Morpurgo and narration by Stephen Fry. Thomas has also composed the music for a new musical version of Rumpelstiltskin which premiered at The Egg, Bath in December 2014. Recent performances include the premiere of a new set of songs charting the history of Bath with words by Paul Williamson (Bath Abbey, 2015), and the UK premiere of choral and orchestral work Panathenaia at the British Museum, commissioned by Hugo Ticciati.

Justus Rümenapp

(neoclassical, cinematic)

Justus Rümenapp is a german neoclassical Pianist and Film Music Composer. He started studying popular music at the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg 2011 and won several classical competitions. He is known for his sensitive and atmospherical way of playing the piano. The melodies let the listeners forget their worries and their everyday life…

Rümenapp also composes Film Music for international award winning Films.


(neoclassical, ambient)

Selsom is the composer alias of songwriter and producer Stian Vedøy. Hailing from a windswept west coast island in Norway, with not much else to do other than playing music, Vedøy started having piano lessons as a 6 year old. Having given most of his adult years too his indie folk pop project, Firewoodisland, he has now decided that it is time create an outlet for his piano lead compositions. With hints of misty and organic sounding synths and other sonic nuances, Selsom takes you to an atmospheric and cinematic state of deep focus.

Enis Rotthoff

(neoclassical, soundtrack)

Enis Rotthoff’s passion for scoring films combined with his orchestral mastery and cutting edge electronic sounds, has made him a leading voice for cinematic music in Germany and has contributed to his growing international reputation. Through his focus on close collaborations with the filmmakers, he is able to build true cinematic concepts providing a unique musical language for each film he scores. Enis splits his time between Los Angeles and Berlin.

Rotthoff has scored feature films in both the United States and in Europe. Rotthoff recently scored Jason Lei Howden’s Guns Akimbo, which premiered at the 2019 Toronto International Film Festival, starring Daniel Radcliffe, Samara Weaving and Ned Dennehy; David Wnendt’s The Sunlit Night, which premiered at the 2019 Sundance Film Festival, starring Gillian Anderson, Jenny Slate, Zach Galifianakis and Sundance’s Grand Jury Prize nominee Wetlands, starring Carla Juri; Patricia Benoit’s Stones in the Sun; Simon Arthur’s Silver Tongues, starring Lee Tergesen; Steve Anderson’s White Orchid, starring Olivia Thirlby and Jennifer Beals; Detlev Buck’s Measuring the World, recorded with the Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna, which earned Rotthoff a Jerry Goldsmith Award nomination; Will Geiger’s Free Willy- Escape from Pirates Cove, starring Bindi Irwin; Anthony Onah’s The Price, which premiered at SXSW in 2017, starring Aml Ameen & Lucy Griffiths.

Rotthoff’s musical range includes works for small ensembles, electronic works and big orchestral pieces that infuse both rare and electronic instruments. He has collaborated and recorded with some of the finest European orchestras and soloists such as trumpet player Till Broenner, cellist Johannes Moser and violinist Kolja Blacher.

Rotthoff earned a scholarship for young composers, before studying and working with Academy Award winning composer Jan A.P. Kaczmarek. He deepened his craft with studies of Film Music at the Film University Babelsberg and Audiovisual Communication at the University of Arts Berlin. In 2007 he was selected as a Sundance Composers Lab Fellow and in 2018 received the German Music Author´s prize for his work as a film composer.

The Music

Christos Doukakis