1. Raison d’être & Troum – ‘Eigi Einhamr

Eigi Einhamr‘ is the first track to be revealed from the new album ‘XIBIPIIO. In and Out of Experience‘ by dark ambient legends Raison d’être and Troum. They first collaborated back in 2015 on their album ‘De Aeris In Sublunaria Influxu‘. That album was a set of sounds compiled by Raison d’être which Troum added to with their own sounds, creating a final mix of Troum’s vision.

This new release ‘XIBIPIIO. In and Out of Experience‘ is the exact opposite. A set of sounds compiled by Troum, which Raison d’être adds to and mixes into his own final vision. This album delves into the world of the Amazonian Piraha tribe. The music on this track ‘Eigi Einhamr‘, much like the previous album, reveals a side of these two musical projects which is at once and nod to both, and something entirely of its own flavor.

You will hear the lush dronework that Troum is known for blending into the deeply emotive framework that brought Raison d’être to fame. Sounds include: guitars, voices, flutes, accordion, cello, violin, didgeridoo, dombra, tapes and found sounds. Needless to say, this will be a deep and meditative journey, of which only veteran artists of their calibre could produce. Close your eyes and step into the depths of the Amazonian wilderness.

The full album is set for release on 18 September.

Michael Barnett

       2. Odonis Odonis – ‘Check My Profile

For this week’s mixtape, I have chosen the latest song ‘Check My Profile’ of the coldwave/post punk/electronic band Odonis Odonis from Toronto. The new single is taken from the upcoming new album ‘No Pop‘, on Felte. The new album is expected to be released next month.

Eleftheria Gesou

  1. Buzz Kull – ‘Into The Void’

The darkwave/synthwave/electronic band Buzz Kull from Sydney, Australia shared a new official video for their track ‘Into The Void’. The track is taken from the debut full length album ‘Chroma‘ released last April, via Burning Rose record label.

Eleftheria Gesou

  1. Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Anthem For No State, Pt. III

The magnificent post-rock collective Godspeed You! Black Emperor from Montreal have recently shared another  opus from their upcoming ‘Luciferian Towers‘ album, out on September 22, via Constellation. This is what they stated about the closing track of ‘Luciferian Towers‘: ‘kanada, emptied of its minerals and dirty oil. emptied of its trees and water. a crippled thing, drowning in a puddle, covered in ants. the ocean doesn’t give a shit because it knows it’s dying too‘. Godspeed are back!

Christos Doukakis

  1. Alvvays – ‘Lollipop (Ode To Jim)

Lollipop (Ode To Jim)‘ was the last revealing from Alvvays‘ new album ‘Antisocialites‘, released yesterday September 8th. 3 minutes of indie pop euphoria, that may prolong the summer in our hearts. This is immaculate indie pop; This is Alvvays! Enjoy…

Christos Doukakis

Compiled by Michael Barnett, Eleftheria Gesou & Christos Doukakis