1. And Yet It Moves– ‘Ketamine Ma’am

Scottish/Danish five-piece collective And Yet It Moves is the new project of  Glasgow’s The Amazing Snakeheads frontman Dale Barclay.

The new outfit seems following the footsteps of the former band and even more ferocious and visceral whenever possible, but the main sonic elements don’t change:  bluesy-punk, psychobilly, garage, rock & roll, noir ballads.

Ketamine Ma’am,‘the rage in motion that the Welsh man called for…’  starts in an eerie ambient mood with sparse piano notes before launching in a “slowly boiling” hypnotic bluesy stomp culminating in an adrenaline rush of scorching fuzzy guitars and gritty raw vocals, eleven overwhelming ‘eargasmatic’ minutes of sublime sonic thrills and a primal roar of anger against the current doom and unrest. Seriously sick stuff!

Fabrizio Lusso

  1. The Vomit Arsonist – ‘Meditations

The opening track and our first preview of ‘Meditations On Giving Up Completely‘ is a proper introduction to the coming horrors and apocalyptic despair of this album. The swirling clouds of toxic vapor prepare us for the chaos which is soon to unfold. A dark and haunting voice introduces the hellish inferno of Earth, once we’ve gone passed the point of no return. When the nukes begin to drop, and the end is inevitable, this will be the soundtrack. The Vomit Arsonist is always sure to deliver a brutal sonic assault, and ‘Meditations On Giving Up Completely‘ only further solidifies him has one of the premier names in the death industrial scene.

Michael Barnett

  1. The Afghan Whigs – ‘Oriole

A great new song, from a great band was shared recently. The Afghan Whigs‘ new ‘Oriole’ provocative (and pagan) video aired revently, about ten days from the album release.  The alternative rock song hooks the audience from the very first moment, it’s certain that we can talk about a hit.

The Afghan Whigs is a band deeply connected with the Seattle grunge movement but after the 2001’s hiatus they renewed the lineup in 2006 and kept on the recordings and the live gigs. In the lineup there are still two core members Greg Dulli (vocals, songwriter) and John Curley (bass). The latest album ‘In Spades (Sub Pop, 5th May 2017) is officially out.

Eleftheria Gesou

  1. Schonwald – ‘Love Collides

Our favourite Italian darkwave/coldwave duo are back with the new single ‘Love Collides’, a preview from their upcoming album ‘Night Idyll’.

Masterfully blending icy minimal synth lines, pulsating bass and hypnotic drum machine rhythms, distorted layered guitars and distant seductive vocals, they shape a cold, hazy and compelling atmosphere, built by the best bits of 80’s post punk and new wave infected by slice of 90’s shoegaze adding, as ever, that something extra special that makes them unique and a step above the rest.

Once again our love for Schonwald collides in the most beautiful way.

Fabrizio Lusso

  1. Circassian – ‘Proper Motion’

Some key elements of the perfect pop song can be found on the latest Circassian‘s offering ‘Proper Motion‘ from ‘Quadrivium‘ EP. It’s merely seconds before the 2nd minute, when the song unfolds into a small indie masterpiece, a bijou of melodies difficult to forget, with mellow guitars and hazy/psych atmosphere melting your brain. Will you be brave enough to take this trip?  Psyched out!

Christos Doukakis

Compiled by Fabrizio Lusso, Michael Barnett, Eleftheria Gesou & Christos Doukakis