1. Else – ‘Night Thoughts’ 

Else is a French music duo from Toulouse, and their latest video for ‘Night Thoughts‘ directed by French national-award nominated directors Adrien Lagier and Ousmane Ly is one of 2019 ultimate experiences. The intense downtempo electronica builds up second by second, while the cinematic video shows the “dreamy friendship slipping into a nightmare backdropped by the California sun as a successful robbery and romp toward the horizon eventually leads to frantic disarray“. 

Watching this sublime piece of art, while listening to this synth-laden opus will work. However, even if you close your eyes, pump up the volume and take a deep breath, Else will make you dream of somewhere far away from planet earth. This is an out-of-orbit track, and needless to say one of those defining 2019 for Last Day Deaf. Pièce de résistance!

Christos Doukakis

  1. Gina Brooklyn – ‘Amo Solo Te’

Last Day Deaf believes in young and upcoming artists; One of those is Gina Brooklyn. Her latest venture is ‘Amo Solo Te‘ a love song inspired one of her favorite places, Cinque Terre, Italy, and sang mostly in Italian (apart from these 2 verses: ‘i love only you, forever and a day‘).

Even though we cannot understand the lyrics, Brooklyn’s stunning vocal performance is powerful enough to melt an iceberg.. Listen to the sea, listen to the nature calling, feel this stripped, and immediate song and try to feel the passion by this unique songstress. Yes, everybody needs and sing ‘Amo Solo Te‘ at least once in our lifetime. Thank you Gina for the goosebumps!

Christos Doukakis

  1. Korn – ‘You’ll Never Find Me’

Korn announced the release of their new album ‘The Nothing‘ which is due out on September 13th via Roadrunner Records/Elektra. The frontman Jonathan Davis described the new album saying among others: “… There is a miraculous and small realm within this vortex and it’s the only place where balance between these dynamic and polarizing forces exists- where the soul finds its refuge. Welcome to…… THE NOTHING.”

Mary Kalaitzidou

  1. ACRYLIC – ‘Post Punk For The Abyss’

Glaswegian five-piece ACRYLIC is the next stop for this last before summer break Mixtape! ‘Post Punk For The Abyss‘ is an anthemic indie rock tune with a beautiful and expressive vocal performance by Andreas Patrizio and flawless enough to sing-along.  This is waht Abdreas said about the track: ‘Post Punk For The Abyss was born out of a playlist of post-punk revival songs made for me by a friend, Joe, who features on the cover artwork for the single. I was quite down at the time and he thought it would cheer me up. The lyrics reference various songs and artists from the playlist; Iceage, Ought, New Order. It’s an homage to them and a toast to feeling good again‘.

The track is out on Spinnup.

Christos Doukakis

  1. MIYNT – ‘Peaches’

Last but not least, we have an addictive blend of indie psych with lo-fi by Swedish artist & producer MIYNT. ‘Peaches‘ is the ideal soundtrack for the lazy (indie) summer nights, an ear-melting gem, with luscious vocals and impeccable songcraft.

Enjoy your summer!

Christos Doukakis 

Compiled by Christos Doukakis & Mary Kalaitzidou