1. Jaguar Sun – ‘Gone’

What we have here is a really cool band name, Jaguar Sun (Chris Minielly), and a track from their (his) debut EP, ‘Gone‘; A melodious indie tune of impeccable beauty bringing to mind acts like Wild Nothing and Real Estate. A richly textured, “trippy” tune for indie-psych devotees!

Christos Doukakis

  1. Anomalie – ‘Temples‘ 

Anomalie from Austria are offering atmospheric blackened soundscapes with their post-black metal music. Their upcoming EP ‘Integra‘ is going to be released on November 9th via AOP Records. The track ‘Temples‘ premiered with a cinematic video, quite captivating.

Mary Kalaitzidou

  1. The Fog Ensemble – ‘Fever Bliss

Fever Bliss‘ is chosen from the just released album ‘Throbs‘ (Inner Ear Records) by The Fog Ensemble. ‘Throbs‘ is the second release by the trio from Thessaloniki Greece, after its debut self-titled (Melotron Recordings, 2015) and was recorded in four days in Shellac Studio in the summer of 2017. Their instrumental music is crafted in a way to create an atmospheric soundscape full of different, but in some cases, relative sounds like dream pop, shoegaze and noise with a post rock aesthetic and even trip hop loosiness.

Eleftheria Gesou

  1. The Emperors Of Ice Cream – ‘The Sunshine Song

From the just released debut album ‘Employees Of Ice Cream‘ by the Brighton-based four piece post-punk outfit The Emperors Of Ice Cream (inspired by Wallace Stevens‘ poem?) we chose ‘The Sunshine Song‘, a frenzied 108 second attack of edgy post-punk with basic elements a killer bass, incongruous guitar riffs and “hold-your-breath” rhythm!

And if our words don’t convince you enough to press the play button then this is what the living legend Mike Watt  (Minutemen, The Stooges, Firehose) has stated about those dudes: “I’m really into this new recording of ‘The Emperors Of Ice Cream’. They first won me over when I saw them live and now hearing this I feel it big time kicks up some serious dust… it “speaks” to me via the heart and paints inside-the-head pictures of emotional wild travel”

Christos Doukakis

  1. Imbibe– ‘Mirage‘ 

Imbibe is the recent musical partnership of brothers Tennyson and Holden Nobel, and ‘Mirage‘ is their debut single released via Helium Records. An electro-pop gem packed with soaring harmonies and “alpine” melodies that will monopolize your listening experience for the next period. On repeat!

The duo commented about the track; “It’s really about the different mirages all humans have – the things we keep striving for that represent our deep longings and hopes. The never-ending search for meaning”.

Christos Doukakis

Compiled by Christos Doukakis, Mary Kalaitzidou & Eleftheria Gesou