The quintessential British London-based synthpop trio Saint Etienne are returning, after a five years hiatus, with a new album titled ‘Home Counties’ due to be released on June 5th via Heavenly.

It contains 19 ‘tracks’ inspired by their bitter-sweet relationship with the eponymous South of England shires, Berkshire and Kent, that have always been part of their lives.

Recorded in the Summer and Autumn of 2016, It’s co-produced by Shawn Lee of Wall Of Sound and Young Gun Silver Fox fame, with cooperation from Augustus (Kero Kero Bonito), Carwyn Ellis (Colorama, Edwyn Collins), Robin Bennett (The Dreaming Spires), Richard X (Girls On Top/Black Melody) and long-time collaborator Gerard Johnson (Denim, Yes).

Sarah Cracknell says: “We had so much fun writing for this album, drawing influence from our teenage years growing up in the home counties. Bob, Pete and I led almost parallel lives while I was in Windsor and they were in Surrey, developing our passion for music and London. Shawn Lee was a joy to work with, he’s a wonderful multi-instrumentalist who seemed to have some kind of telepathy with us and translated our ideas perfectly. The record is quite varied in styles and brings together a little something from all our past albums whilst sounding completely new.”

The cover of the album was designed by renowned artist Scott King.

Saint Etienne have also set off a UK tour in June, festival (Barcelona Primavera Sound included) and headline shows over the Summer, including a performance at the Royal Festival Hall in London. A September/October North America tour is also in the pipeline, dates will be announced shortly.


Fabrizio Lusso