Liverpool indie rockers Clinic have announced the release of ‘Wheeltappers and Shunters‘ – their follow-up to 2012’s ‘Free Reign‘ LP. If ‘Wheeltappers and Shunters‘ doesn’t ring a bell to you you mustn’t be a fan of ITV’s variety show “The Wheeltappers and Shunters Social Club” that aired in the 1970s, set in a fictional working men’s club. Lead singer Ade Blackburn said via press release, “We thought it felt right to make a fun, dancefloor album in these dark and conservative times.

Given some of the song titles, I would say they’ve done a smash up job of balancing those moods. The first single off the twelve-track album is ‘Rubber Bullets’ with a video featuring direction and animation by Vancouver based artist Joseph May, who’s previous worked on videos for Redlight, CHAMPS, and Ardyn.

Check out the album’s tracklisting and cover art, along with ‘Rubber Bullets’ down below. You can find ‘Wheeltappers and Shunters‘ out via Domino on May 10th.

Sarah Medeiros


Wheeltappers and Shunters’ tracklisting:

1. Laughing Cavalier

2. Complex

3. Rubber Bullets

4. Tiger

5. Ferryboat of the Mind

6. Mirage

7. D.I.S.C.I.P.L.E

8. Flying Fish

9. Be Yourself/Year of the Sadist

10. Congratulations

11. Rejoice!

12. New Equations at the Copacabana