The Scottish indie rockers Franz Ferdinand, also regarded as a post-punk revival band with the half Greek frontman Alex Kapranos, have recently shared the first new single ‘Always Ascending’ of the upcoming homonymous new album. The anticipated new recording will be the first full length after five years since the ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action (Domino, 2013) and it will be officially released on 9th February 2018 via Domino. However, it is already available for preorder.

Franz Ferdinand formed in 2002. The band’s members are Alex Kapranos (lead vocals, guitar and keyboard), Bob Hardy (bass, guitar), Paul Thomson (drums, percussion and backing vocals), Dino Bardot (guitar and backing vocals) and the newcomer Julian Corrie (keyboards, synthesizer, guitar and backing vocals) who replaced Nick McCarthy.  They have released five full length albums along with various live albums.  Their debut, breakthrough, album ‘Franz Ferdinand‘ (2004) was awarded with the Mercury Prize and several other awards by NME, MTV, Ivor Novello awards and Q Awards.

Eleftheria Gesou