Dutch shoegazing metal band An Autumn For Crippled Children have announced the release of ‘All Fell Silent, Everything Went Quiet‘ out May 1st via Prosthetic Records, the followup to 2019’s ‘Withered Dreams‘ singles compilation. The band, named after an altered song title of English avant-garde group Ebony Lake’s, have also shared with the public the second single off the LP, entitled ‘Water’s Edge‘.

The song is exactly four minutes and 49 seconds, the same as their previous single ‘I Became You‘, making this writer wonder if there’s a hidden meaning behind the numbers? Before you get lost into the haze of intrigue I’ve just created, give the track filled with metal shrieks and overcast instrumentals a listen down below. ‘Water’s Edge‘ is surefooted in ethereal minimalism, much like Sigur Rós tracks, with fans describing it as “New Order deciding to go down the blackgaze path.” An Autumn For Crippled Children said in a statement, “Water’s Edge is about special places from one’s childhood. It’s generally about personal ‘special’ sentimental places. That mixed feeling of loss, nostalgia, missing a certain moment in time, missing a certain place long gone, missing certain people. Times that will never come back. Times that where good. Somethings like that.

It holds a poignant meaning in a time when most of us are in mourning for routines, habits, a steady job, and even loved ones. Check out the single along with ‘All Fell Silent, Everything Went Quiet‘s track listing and cover art below.

Sarah Medeiros

All Fell Silent, Everything Went Quiet’ tracklisting:

1. I Became You

2. Water’s Edge

3. Everlasting

4. Paths

5. Silver

6. None More Pale

7. All Fell Silent, Everything Went Quiet

8. The Failing Senses

9. Craving Silence

10. Distance